Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

I spoke this week with Brenda Cunliffe of Communication is Key, she is an animal communicator who I heartily recommend (you can find a link to her website at the end of this blog).   There have been many times that Brenda has shared extraordinary information with me about Ling, my Shih Tzu who passed to eternal life on September 30th of this year.

IMG_0970

© 2012-2013 Cinema Profound/Sidney Peck All Rights Reserved.

Ling was more to me than a pet, she was my best friend.  I had the privilege of raising her and we spent almost 12 years together.  On September 26th she was fine and seemed to enjoy her daily mile walk.  The next morning when she refused her food I knew something was seriously awry.  Her breathing was labored, and within a couple of hours she was diagnosed with Coronary Heart Failure.  Within four days, she had to be euthanized.

By the way, I hate that word, I don’t know why really, but I do.  I prefer to say it was a mercy killing.  Truth is always easier on the psyche, at least it is for me.  I don’t know when the term “being euthanized” came into our lexicon, but I’d like to see it dropped because it seems like we have become a society of euphemisms, and I’m of the opinion that they are on a certain level the cause of societal mass delusion, but I digress…

One month after she died, I took a walk to the shore so I could grieve and tell her how wonderful it was to have her in my life for as long as I did.  It was a beautiful, sunny day with clear skies and gale force winds.  On the way home on a grassy driveway, in a semi-wooded area, I found a wild turkey feather.  With the winds blowing like that, it immediately struck me as odd that I’d find a feather lying there.

I kept walking and about half way home, I realized the feather was the same coloring as Ling!  When Ling was in “full coat,” she had 10 zebra-like stripes.  Take a look at the feather below.

© 2012-2013 Cinema Profound/Sidney Peck All Rights Reserved.

© 2012-2013 Cinema Profound/Sidney Peck All Rights Reserved.

There was no doubt in my mind that Ling placed this feather in that precise spot so I — and I alone — could discover it that morning on my walk.  How she managed this, I may never know.  When I showed it to “Doctor Hopper” (my sister), she had the same reaction.  It was a gift from Ling.

Confirmation of this fact came when I spoke with Brenda this week.  I asked Brenda if Ling had tried to give me a sign since her passing.  Brenda said:  “Yes, something about a feather.  Does this make sense?”  I answered in the affirmative.  Brenda continued: “She knows that feathers are important to you, and she wants you to know that she’ll keep sending them to you as she can.”

Wow.  What a gift!

I had been so bereft wondering if I’d ever see her again.  Struggling with the thought that maybe there is no afterlife for pets.  This is the belief of many fundamentalist Christians.  They think that animals are soulless, which is their justification for hunting.  Hmm, me thinks that’s another blog brewing.

I had even asked a pastor about this.  His answer was that he wasn’t certain, but that he thought that if it’s important for my happiness to have Ling and my other pets with me in Heaven, that they’d be there.  None of what I read or heard was of real comfort to me.  There were too many questions.

Then came the feather.  The feather from Heaven.  Now I know.  Life does go on.  I know it for a fact and this beautiful gift was given to me — and the world — by the Best Dog That Ever Lived, my Ling.  Thank you, darling.

Something else wonderful that Ling shared with me through Brenda was that a dog that was mostly silver with black and white was the first to greet her.  This didn’t make sense to me at first, but when I shared the story with Doctor Hopper, she said it sounds like Keppie, a Norwegian Elkhound I grew up with, which looked almost exactly like the picture below.  By the way, I sent this photograph to Brenda and she confirmed that the picture of the dog that Ling transmitted to her looked like this.

This resonated with me, not only because of the coloring, but Keppie and I had a special bond.  One that even my sister didn’t know, since she was no longer living at home at that time.

I had rescued Keppie from freezing to death when she became lost in the winter in the woods up the street from our home.  Keppie had been lost for a couple of days.  My parents had given up.  Obsessed, I wouldn’t.  I kept telling them that Keppie was alive.

By the time that I found her, she was near death.  She had fallen into an abandoned foundation out in the middle of the woods.  There were no tracks that lead me to her, and I didn’t hear her until I was a few feet away from where she was.  Her spirit lead me to her.  It was a long run home to get my dad to help get her out.  It took two men and a long ladder for the rescue.  The vet said that if I hadn’t found her when I did, she would have died.

This happened over four decades ago.  A lifetime, but Keppie’s love for me is eternal.  She never forgot.  She was there for Ling, just like she’s always been there for me.  I hope you find the same comfort in this as I do.  Life IS eternal.  So is love.

Have yourself a happy holiday season.  Thanks to Brenda, Ling and Keppie and all my loved ones, I know I will.  I’m feeling extraordinarily blessed this year in spite of the difficulties I’m facing.

A couple of footnotes:

If you’d like to contact Brenda, here is her information:  http://www.commiskey.biz.  Be sure to tell her that Sidney and Ling sent you.

Euthanasia comes from the Greek words, Eu (good) and Thanatosis (death) and it means “Good Death, “Gentle and Easy Death.”  I still think it’s better to be frank, though…

I want to thank you for taking time to visit with me here.  Comments are sincerely appreciated, and if you like what you just read, you’d be an angel to share it on social media.  There’s lots of share the love buttons below.

© 2012-2014 Cinema Profound/Sidney Peck  All Rights Reserved.

