Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Birthdays are a Rite of Passage.  This was never truer than the one I celebrated two days ago.

For the several weeks preceding, I knew this one would be momentous.  A shift had happened in both my interior and exterior life and signs started appearing that were subtle, but convincing.  The baby grand that had hoisted itself up on my back gracefully slipped off.  I could fly again.

On the day of my birthday, it was the first beautiful day we had enjoyed in weeks.  The two and a half weeks preceding my birthday were wet, dark and raw, kind of like the way my mood had been for months on end.  This was the first sign.

A Beautiful Day ❤

A Beautiful Day ❤

The second sign was a phone call from a friend.  While we were talking, he shared that he had just received funding for his newly formed production company, based in Brooklyn, New York.  He wanted to know if I had any ideas for a short film.  Does a mermaid swim in the water?!  I pitched him an idea I’ve been playing around with.  He loved it and committed to put it on his fall production slate!

The third sign was phenomenal.  As I stood watching a family of busy barn swallows flying in and out of a fine antique barn on a friend’s property, I knew it was a sign.  My family had more than 60 clipper ships that sailed from Nova Scotia and Great Britain all over the Atlantic, Caribbean and Mediterranean.

Those of you familiar with animal legends will know that a swallow was often a symbol tattooed by British sailors for good luck.  These swallows are also a symbol of family, friends and loyalty.  Lastly, it is a totem of freedom and hope.  I could hear my family saying Hold Fast, we, God, and your angels are working up a storm to bring you a mighty blessing.

Image:  © Mitch Waite Group

Image: © Mitch Waite Group

The fourth sign was when a friend of mine gave me a bouquet of Lilacs and Lily of the Valley.  She said that she had hesitated, not knowing if I would enjoy these two fragrant varieties, but that something had strongly prompted her to give them to me.  I had to smile.  These two plants were my Nana’s favorites.  Just smelling their fragrance brought me back decades to sitting in her garden enveloped in their heady perfume.  I knew that she was telling me to “Press on regardless”, another of our family’s mottos.

The fifth sign was that a friend whom I haven’t seen nor heard from in over a year showed up to celebrate my birthday.  This was a huge surprise because I honestly had given up on our friendship, considering it to be one of my “casualties of war.”  Meaning, one of the friendships that hasn’t survived Sidney’s shit hitting the proverbial fan, but there he was with the most beautiful smile on his face.  Thank you, God!

The last and most significant sign came later that night.  I was about to turn in for the night when an overwhelming urge to check Twitter came over me.  When I first logged in, I didn’t see anything extraordinary.  As a matter of fact, I almost immediately logged out, but then I saw IT.  There was the blue indicator that I had a fresh direct message.

I opened my DMs and there IT was.  An incredible message from someone whom to say that I admire them would be a gross understatement.  Tada!  My birthday wish came true.

Sometimes all it takes is knowing that someone whom you hold high in esteem sees your unique gift and appreciates it.  Many people go through their lives never experiencing this.  This has happened to me before, but this time it takes the cake.  So, I guess I’ll have my cake and eat it too!  Thank you, God.

God, seriously…THANK YOU!

An appropriate choice of cake for this year's birthday: a WHOOPIE PIE!

An appropriate choice of cake for this year’s birthday: a WHOOPIE PIE!

If those weren’t already enough signs that the cycle of life was back in motion, there was one more magical occurrence.

Our family has a tradition of celebrating a birthday for an entire week. this year was no different.  After the spectacular day I had already had, imagine my delight when the next day, my sister presented me with my mom’s engagement ring.  I had given it to her when mom died in 2009.

It seemed odd for her to return it, but Claudia explained that mom had asked her to, apparently she wanted me to know that she really believes in me too.  This was an amazing conclusion to an already perfect birthday.  I know that no matter how many more I have, this one will hard to top.

I want to thank you for taking time to visit with me here.  Comments are sincerely appreciated, and if you like what you just read, you’d be an angel to share it on social media.  There’s lots of share the love buttons below ❤

© 2012-2014 Cinema Profound/Sidney Peck  All Rights Reserved.

