Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

A red fox ran across the road while I was driving home early this evening.  This is a really good omen because the fox, and specifically the red fox, is my Totem Animal.

images

Photo Courtesy of: Tumblr

What is a Totem Animal?  It’s an animal that repeatedly reveals itself to you in a natural setting, and over a long period of time, as in years.  One doesn’t necessarily have the same Totem Animal their whole life.

For instance, when I was growing up, mine was rabbit.  I even had one, her name was Guinevere.  She was all black and looked a lot like the one below.  There were bunnies galore across my path as a child, it seemed like everywhere I looked another one would hop by.  I was so associated with them that my friends called me, yup, guess what?  You’ve got it!  That nickname stuck with me until my early 30’s.  And that was about the time that I started having fox encounters.

Photo Courtesy of:  flickr.com

Photo Courtesy of: flickr.com

By the way, this came up in my search for black bunnies, F.Y.I.

Unknown source off of Google

That’s Just W-R-O-N-G!
No credit given. Big Surprise.

Ah, you’ve got to love the internet!  ヅ

So, when I saw the fox, I knew it was a good sign because I hadn’t seen one since moving back to Maine in early October.  As a matter of fact, I had just this week realized this and began to worry about the local fox population.  Up here in the North Country, they’re not tolerated very well.  People seem to hate them.  At least that’s the conclusion I’ve come to because they surely do like to kill them.  Don’t get me started!

Earlier in the day, I’d had another good omen for the year when the news came that Ling was going to get financial aid from The Winston Fund, which our veterinarian had recommended when they learned that I had applied to numerous charitable organizations (again), only to find out that everyone’s funds are running low.  We can thank The Assholes (in case you don’t know who I’m referring to, it’s the One Percent) for that charming development.  All I can say is, thank God Romney didn’t get elected!

This was a HUGE BLESSING because she is overdue for her grooming, which she really needs due to allergies.  We were all out of Optimmune, critical for her ongoing eye care, and some other items that the vet’s office recommended to them directly.  Whoopie!  What a relief this is.  If you feel like thanking them for me, by contributing to The Winston Fund, I’ll have a link at the end of this article.  Should you do so, please let them know you heard about them here.  Thanks!

What a lovely way to end our first week of the New Year!  Thank you, God!

By the way, I was playing on the internet and I found this really interesting quiz to determine what Animal Totem applies to me.  Now, it wasn’t a fox, but…the results were really accurate.  If it at all interests you, I would encourage you to try it out for yourself.  If you do, I’d love to hear what you think!

Oh, and as for my New Year’s Resolutions?  So far, so good!  Look for the first weekly update on the ninth of January.

You’ll see below, my Totem Animal test results.  For some reason, Word Press has changed things and from what I can tell, you can no longer insert an html code into a post.  Damn!  To see it, just stretch it.

Screen Shot 2013-01-05 at 1.29.51 AM

Here’s the link to get your own:  http://www.allthetests.com/quiz10/quiz/1095198776/What-Totem-Animal-Are-You

The Winston Fund link:  http://www.thearkpets.org  Go to the Support Section of the  menu, and you’ll see Donors.  This has information on how to contribute.  If you want to be a ROCK STAR, make a donation and earmark it for Ling!  Woof, woof!

Thank you for taking the time to read this.  Maybe you’ll leave a comment so I know what you think?  GRAZIE!

© 2012-2013  Cinema Profound  All Rights Reserved.

 

