Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Sorry that it’s been almost a month since my last post.  Honestly, I was hoping to be able to share more upbeat news, but there’s not a lot of that.  At least not yet!  Ling and I have begun to settle into our new home.  We’re sharing a house with a mother and her daughter and the occasional airbnb visitor.  As a matter of fact, yesterday a lovely young couple from Russia came back for a second visit and they’re upstairs now enjoying a Thanksgiving feast.  Ling, Doktor Hopper and I had a really lovely time today.  DH brought two lobsters and I made my Killer Slaw and a simple salad.  After lunch, we all took a walk in the woods.  Perfect!

I’ve been thinking a lot this week about those three months in LA.  Living and sleeping in my car truly did award me with an advanced degree in Perspective.  Take a minute and imagine what it would feel like to:

  • Pee in a bucket crouched on the floor of your car.  In Los Angeles.
  • Take a shower at a homeless shelter and have a stranger pull back the filthy vinyl curtain and leer at you.
  • Wear and sleep in the same clothes so often that they quickly become full of tears and holes.
  • Go to your former church only to leave feeling more broken-spirited than when you walked in.
  • Cry yourself to sleep because you feel utterly alone and scared.  Night after night after night…
  • Try and sleep in a car…with only being able to crack the windows slightly open…in Los Angeles…in the summer.
  • Being hunted by a determined stalker while you are not only homeless, but close to penniless.

Now, imagine how it feels to be in a warm home, in a safe place with food in your tummy.  Tonight we may not totally have our lives back on track, but we are a long way on the road to recovery.  Every day, Ling is feeling more like her old self, her appetite is healthy and she loves to play again.  On walks she turns around and smiles, as if to say “Thanks Mom for getting us home!  I love you!”

We are both so grateful to put the horrors of this summer behind us.  I want to express how much the kindnesses shown to us in the past and present continue to inspire our journey.  I know that without the generosity of those folks on the “Thanks For Giving” page of this site, we literally may have perished.  Sadly, some of those friends are no longer our friends, but regardless, they have my eternal thanks for what they did at the time to help me and Ling.  May God richly bless you and yours this Thanksgiving night and always.

 

 

On a more somber note:  We’re not out of the woods.  I haven’t been able to find any work YET, and the fear of being homeless again is doing a number on my PTSD.  Lots of nightmares.

© 2012-2014  Cinema Profound  All Rights Reserved.

 

 

